New Music Review

Hey my people, how have we been doing?  Me, I’ve been good just enjoying the new music that has been coming out in the past month.  I picked up that new Maxwell joint BlackSummers’night and let me tell you for someone whose been out of the game for over 10 years, he came back with a smash.  If you can’t get none when you put his CD on, you are a lame.  I mean he does all the work for you and more.  Maxwell sets the mood, makes’ em feel good about themselves and and gently lays them down in pure Ecstasy.  What left is for you to finish the job and lala-bye that ass.  For Maxwell new CD I give it a 9 out of a 10 and the only reason it’s not a 10 is because it only has 9 songs on it.  I think he’s trying to do a trilogy with Blacksummersnight and make it a 3 disc installment.  Sound good to me, but with his material in my opinion he didn’t need a gimmick, the material speaks for itself.

Blacksummers night

Blacksummers night

Some of you might remember a couple of months ago I mentioned a new Hip Hop Super group by the name of Slaughterhouse which consist of Joell Ortiz, Crooked I, Royce da 5’9” and Joe Budden which released a mixtape called The Art of Slaughterhouse which is one of the top five mixtapes of 2009.  However, Slaughterhouse is definitely one of the top three album releases of 2009 hands down.  If you are a true Hip Hop head and want to hear some good sounds please check out their self debut album Slaughterhouse where they take it back to tic-4-tac and let off a barrage of lyrical ammo from from the likes of Desert Storm I.  These guys goes in and hard on every track and leave it right there on the track at the end.  Don’t be fooled, the beats are are hitting, the lyrics will leave you wanting more and the overall delivery will have you spewing out obscenity’s to your co-workers, I give them a 9 out of 10 for this one.  Don’t sleep, check’em out.

Slaughterhouse

Slaughterhouse

One Response to “New Music Review”

  1. You have an ear for music definitely, I remember you did a review on WALE, it’s good to see him getting some shine in the mainstream. Cool Kids up next!!!
    I didn’t give Maxwell much of a chance, there were too few songs, and the songs didn’t sound like much of the Maxwell i’d been used to. I listened to it once and gave it to my mom, I do like his second single off the album, i’ll be listening to it again…

Leave a Reply

