A Letter to White Folks

Good Morning White American,

First let me start off by saying, please don’t take this the wrong way.  By no means am I trying to patronize you or belittle you.  This come from the bottom of my heart.

With that being said, I would like to thank all of you for using your logical judgment in voting for and electing our first black president.  With out you, White America we could not have pulled this off.  If it weren’t not for you we would still be understand Republican rule and be teetering on the verge of a second Great Depression.  Let’s keep it real for a minute, blacks only make up 13-14% of the American population (US Census 2000), with Latinos, Asians and other taking up a very small percentage and whites at 74% (Not including the 23.2 million White Hispanic and Latino Americans: 66% or 198.1 million) Wikipedia 2009.  So, that mean if ALL the black  people in the Unite States of America voted 4 times each for Obama we still would have came up short.

I really want to express my gratitude toward your decision as a race.  I have to tell you I really didn’t think you had it in you, I bet against you and said there’s no way in hell, these white people are going to let this black man win.  And look at me now, I have to man up and tell you I was wrong.  I really didn’t know that you could out aside all the misconceptions, disillusion and illegitimate issues towards us blacks and focus on the American people as a whole and the American society as a whole.  To come together and dislodge a political group that has drained this economy and the American people dry.  We were in need of some huge changes, I mean we are at the point of no return.  Our society is reeling from the past 8 years and we are still trying to do what we as Americans do and that’s survive.  I just wanted to take this time to inform you of this and I know you are aware, but I just have to say it and this is not just for you, it’s for all of us.  Roman was not built in a day and neither will the American economic system.  This thing will take time, as with everything, it’s a process.  It took a terrible process to get hear and it will take a process to get us out.  Have patience and being willing to do more and be more because we all need help, America needs help.

Oh, I want to shout out a website that I view, just  to get a read on white people and the things that you do.  It’s called “Stuff White People Like”  check it out. It’s pretty cool and it’s a generalization of a group of people.  Meaning not all people in that group are like that, but you know how it is.  Peace and guess what?

“MY PRESIDENT IS BLACK AND YOURS IS TOO!!!!!!!!

Whoa, I never thought I’d see this day.  Thank you Jesus!

4 Responses to “A Letter to White Folks”

  1. nightman1 Says:

    You’re welcome!

    I’m white and I live in the South and am a staunch Person of the Left, and I didn’t think Obama could win either.

    A friend of mine who is from Connecticut, and has lived here for 20 years, bet against me and won. I was never so happy in my life to lose a bet.

    However, before we all declare the USA racism-free, we should take a look at some of the margins by which MacCain took Southern states. (MSNBC previously featured a map that showed McCain winning by like 20%.

    The white folks down here are circling their wagons!

    • Oh no, by no means am I saying that this is an end to racism, but hopefully it a start of an open discussion about racism and the problems it causes. Sort of like a cause and affect thing, ya know. Both sides being brutally honest with one another and working though it. I think it’s a start, look how it has us talking to each other. I mean it’s through the internet, but we are talking and communication our feelings. Once we start to understand each other and find out that the stereotypes and all the nonsense that’s out there in our society are false, then and only then will we able to move on past racism. Also, most of the negative things about both of our races are pretty much generalizations of a whole, which we both know are not the case with all parties involved, as we seen with this past election.

      • However, I must warn you I talk about everything under the sun, as you can see if you go back through previous post. I tried to speak my mind according to what’s going on in my world and give people a window into that. Thank the book markings and I will try to keep it real as possible.

  2. Well sir, I look forward to reading your perspective on many things. Despite being a passionate Obama supporter I only have even fairly close contact with Black people at work.

    I do seriously doubt they are going to tell me lots of ideas that are common in the Black community very often, whereas your blog might!

    I’ve added your blog to my blogroll.

    There is nothing more important in the US than that Caucasians and Blacks try to bridge the vast gap, largely rooted in the history slavery and its aftermath, between their two subcultures.

Leave a Reply

