It’s been awhile….

Hello there, what a beautiful day in the hood.  People are speaking to each other, looking each other in the eye, looking for jobs, putting down the crack pipe and the Jack Daniels.  Yeah right, but for real things are looking up, I can see hope in the eyes of these folks.  I wanted to look at a meaning of a word that is really little, but packs a good punch when used in the right way, Audacity.  The meaning of au-dac-i-ty according to Dictionary.com is: the boldness or daring, esp. with confident or arrogant disregard for personal safety, conventional thought, or other restrictions.  Whoa, I told you, look at that.  Let’s take a look at some words that stand out to me.  BOLDNESS, DARING, with CONFIDENT or ARROGANT DISREGARD.  I would say that those are some strong words, wouldn’t ya say.  I feel those are the kinds of words that cut to the white meat.  I mean those words are how we have lived in this country for so long even though we were being misrepresented and culturally raped.  It was a time when we didn’t have those words in our vocabulary, shit for that manner any words because we weren’t allowed to read.  Oooooooo, but buddy when we got the truth, when the light shinned on us it paved the way for us to achieve the boldness, confidence and arrogance.  A many a person died in or for us to have these basic fundamental rights because of the struggle.

Some people take the word struggle lightly like it bares no weight, they use it loosely.  Like people who came before us didn’t fight for there lives.  How can people sit back and compare our fight and struggle to that of others.  How can I sit back and say the Jews pain is greater than our or the Indians struggles ain’t got nothing on the slaves or the Japanese got the worst of it all.  How could you sit back and make comparison with the ills of the world history, because the bottom line is that people died, some in acts of war and some because the murders felt it was the right thing to do.  Let me ask this question and I feel it’s a valid one at that.  After so much time has past since the Holocaust, slavery, the Atomic bomb being dropped in Japan and colonization of the Americas, after everything this world has been through, why is it we still don’t get it?  Why is it people love to hate, kill, steal and rape.  What is it that makes people be kill joys in a joys moment in history?  What is it that makes it acceptable to be this way?  The answer is simple, see I know some of you don’t want to hear this, but I’m going to tell you what God loves and that’s the truth.  For all those out there who don’t believe in something, that’s ok.  I’m not hear to preach to you.  For those of your that do believe in something, you already know.  Here’s the answer, we don’t live in a perfect world.  As a matter of fact, everything around us and in us is imperfect.  So with all this imperfectness all around us, all this evil doing going on how could you not believe in something greater than yourself.  Everything happens for a reason…. let’s see what this one was for.

2 Responses to “It’s been awhile….”

  1. Interesting…I can dig it, my man. You could spark a hell of a conversation with this post. I straddle the line, I must admit. I believe in a higher power, but I don’t believe that my belief has any more significance than anyone else’s, no matter what they believe. However, my belief is sometimes challenged to the nth degree when I start to think about all of the ills of the world. If God, or Allah, or Buddha or the Sun God all loved people so much, then why in the hell would any of them allow for such craziness. That’s the only way I can describe it. It’s anarchy and people doing things to people that are indescribable. I just don’t get it. So, thus, what is the meaning of it all? I think the meaning of it all is to get better. To learn. You did something wrong yesterday, so don’t make the same mistake today, or tomorrow. I know it’s hard to hear but, you killed someone yesterday, try not to kill someone tomorrow. To lean strictly on the Christian religion (sorry, I only know a little about it) a sin, is a sin, is a sin. So, killing a man, is the same as adultery, which in turn is the same as cursing. So, no matter where the root of the evil is, the mere act of striving towards a better position than the one in which you started is the essence of life. Dig??? Maybe…nice post, pimpin’. Be cool.

  2. That’s the beauty of it all man. Opinions are like yesterday, everyone had one and if you didn’t it was a bad day for you. I truly believe in what I believe in, but in the same note I’m not pushing what I believe in on you. That’s where people get it twisted at. Us Christians do that a lot too, judging people and saying what is right and holier than tho, when we know for a fact that’s not how we are suppose to be. My whole thing and I tell people this when they want to argue the fact and state their case, which they have every right to do, but we all know what that could lead too. So, I nip it in the bud and tell them “I would rather live believing in Jesus and find out later he didn’t exists, than to live not believing in Jesus and find out later he does exists”.

Leave a Reply

