A Truly Historic Day

Today, in the state of Colorado, the city of Denver and the stadium of Investco Filed the Democratic Presidential Candidate Sen. Barack Obama will give his acceptance speech for the nomination in front of millions of people worldwide and on a very special day.  On this day back in 1963, Martin Luther King Jr. gave his speech “I Have a Dream” on the Lincoln Memorial in Washington D.C. , a speech that is the most memorized and recognizable speech ever written.  The words “I have a dream, that one day may children will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character” in this moment in time can become the symbol for American society and an opportunity for America to live up to it’s creed that the foundations were built upon, that all men were create equal.  I hear people say that they would never thought they would see the day when a person of color had an opportunity as this.  I don’t think we have really felt the magnitude of this day in history, I would put it up there with the Civil War, the Emancipation Proclamation and the Civil Rights Movement which is the direct result of today.  I would like to take this time to thank the  people who came before me and fought and struggled with the racist society of your day.  Without you, there wouldn’t be a day like this in history.  The blood, sweat and tears of my ancestors would not have been in vain.  OK, maybe I’m getting ahead of myself, but if Obama wins the 2008 Presidential election you can see what that post will be like.

Let me end on this note,just like people thought they would never see the day a black man would become a presidential nominee and it happen, I bet those same people would think they wouldn’t see the day the Lord came back too, but here’s the thing, everyone will see that.  It just goes to show you never know what’s going to happen because some things are not in your control.  Just a thought.

P.S.   BY NO MEANS AM i CALLING BARACK OBAMA THE LORD.

3 Responses to “A Truly Historic Day”

  1. First I would like to say that I love Black people. It is a milestone that a man of color is now a candidate for President. That is all good and great. Then lets look at the issues. We are at war.
    The Arabs, Muslims, Jihadists, etc. are going to be celebrating in the streets just like they did not 911, if Obama wins. Why? In the Muslim world if your father is Muslim, then so are you. Obama also says that he will be pulling our troops out of Iraq. They love that even more. That is why he is also getting the Muslim vote in America. The Arab world will view him as someone that does not have the stomach for war, some one that is weak. I think Israel is in real danger of attack. Then we are going to be pulled into an even greater war, with more nations.

  2. Then Jesus has returned. He was here in 2006 and 2007. The word hasn’t spread because people don’t believe it. They think it’s crazy.

  3. OK, I feel where you are coming from, however I love people of all colors and just like people from their own race should loves themselves even more. I really think that we as Americans pick and choose our battle, what we want to hear and believe and who to accept and who not to accept. That’s why we are Americans and that’s the meaning of being an American. With that being said, I don’t know if you read my older post, but I explain the one drop rule that has been a staple in America since the Civil War. Now, what you are saying is that if you have any part Muslim in you then you’re Muslim. Does that sound about right? Forget the other part that make you a person, right. Forget that his mother was white or when it is convenient part Irish, German and Portuguese. Doesn’t matter, she’s still white in America right. That’s the difference, it only becomes an issue when it brought to the public eye and the…BOOM!!!!!!! All hell has broken loose. It doesn’t matter what part of what Obama is, all that matters is if he can bring this county back to it’s rightful place in history. Can we change history and began to write the history of equal rights and equal justice and equal employment and equal health care and a war that was not based on lies and fabrications of the true. Can we really truthfully and honestly take 4-8 more years of Republican rule. Do you want to raise a generation in our society like it is today. I want more for my kids, I want a better place for them to grow. I want them to have an equal opportunity to survive out in the world and I willing to electing a decedent of a free African man and a white woman than to take my chances with the Republican rule that has tore down this great country in only 8 years.

Leave a Reply

