Destruction of the Family

Today, I blog with a heavy heart because I have experienced a tragic loss in my family. Yeah, I know everyone goes through this and when someone dies a lot of people are affected. Without going into too much detail because I’m still a little glazed over from all that’s happens in recent days. I want to talk about family and how it is being destroyed and torn down.

When I think of family I think of a group of people with the same blood line and blood that was married into the family “in-laws”. Family is suppose to be a part of a person life that is the foundation and the backbone of their existence. Sure, not everything is always all peaches and cream in family, but the overall feeling is that in time of need family is suppose to support and help each other.

So, my question is this. What the hell is going on with all the Fathers committing murder-suicides, single mothers killing all their children, kids killing their whole families? What is going on? I don’t know if this has been going on for long time or not and the invention of the information super highway has made it possible for things of this nature to be brought to the public eye, but every other week someone is LOSING it and killing up everyone. These are the sign of the times. I wonder what was the murder-suicide rate during the Great Depression? I know they had to be doing all kinds of things. What is the cause and effect of this type of desperation being committed by these individuals?

I believe there are many factors to it, but I will just name a few that I feel are huge. I blame society, yeah I know everyone blames society for everything. Can we be honest with ourselves for just once in our lives. Society has change a lot since the post-civil rights era and they say change is good, but at what cost. I think the beginning of the end was when our government took upon themselves to tell parents how to raise their children and when God and discipline was taking out of our schools. Our society took responsibility away from the one who were suppose to be in control in the daily aspects of children lives. Since that time has come and pass can you tell me what you see today as far as how that has helped us. Can you go into an urban school and tell me that has help. Can you tell the parents of the kids who lost their lives at school because some kid was picked on and bullied. Yeah, it’s just not urban areas, it’s all areas: urban, rural, middle class, high class don’t matter. We have became a society where we look at our government to give help and it’s is the root of the problems today, what happen to the days of helping ourselves? Are they gone too with the leaders who stood before the establishment and said somethings not right, here. Who, let’s see I can name a few right off hand: The Kennedy’s borther, MLK, Malcom X and they were all killed within a matter of years. What happen to that influencial person who could stand up for what’s wrong and fight for what’s right.

I feel things are going to get worse before they ever get better, let’s just hope and pray that we handle the long haul and not snap and break and do unthinkable things to our loved ones. PEACE!!!! Be safe.

2 Responses to “Destruction of the Family”

  1. Deb Vitella Says:

    You might want to check out this site for your answers:

    http://www.drugawareness.org

  2. My prayers are with you and your family in this time of loss and you bring up some good points about the family, murder, and society, I’m on my break so I can’t elaborate much but I think the increase in heinous crimes is a sign of the times, without trying to oversimplify a paramount issue, but that’s the only way for me to even try to make sense of things.
    Love you

Leave a Reply

